top of page

My History Behind Traveling


Siena, Italy

Traveling is the one thing I have consistently been sure of when growing up. The one thing I knew I had to accomplish before I met my demise. There are a lot of things in my life that I’m not quite sure of, but traveling has never been one of them. In a way, it has always felt as if it was a part of me, as if it was linked to my bloodline somehow – essentially in relation to gypsies. I can’t exactly explain my urge to travel, except that it was something I must do.

My family has carried this same characteristic for as long as I can remember. For instance, my family has always moved in and out of houses, in such a way that it was going out of style. The thought of doing so has never saddened them, in fact, it excited them. A new area and a new life was viewed as adventurous and intriguing.

My one memory of when my longing for traveling was elicited had approached me during my trip to Disney World. It was a family vacation that my family had decided on during the summer of 2009. We had visited the Magic Kingdom, the Animal Kingdom, and Epcot. As you know, Epcot is the one park in Disney World, which contains every country in the world, and so it was here my passion for traveling was awaken. My favorites of course were Italy, Paris, Mexico, and the United Kingdom. The visit to Epcot had given me only a taste, but I wanted more! From then on, I began to plan my trip to Europe, and with doing so my mother was completely supportive of my intentions. In fact, she had planned to go with me as well as my whole family.

My senior year had finally arrived, and to celebrate all my hard work my family began to plan me a senior trip to Europe. However, suddenly on March 5, 2013, I was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. My hopes of seeing the world were sadly ruined by a diagnosis in which no one wants to hear…cancer. In that point of my life, I was broken and defeated, but by the grace of God, I was restored, and I had conquered the brutal disease. By June 11, 2015, I was given my last dose of chemotherapy, and praise God, I have been in remission for well over two years now. Due to my ongoing faith and diligence, I am now studying abroad and living out my dreams in Italy! Who would have thought?


bottom of page