top of page

Reflecting On My Time In Italy

Manarola, Cinque Terre
Monterosso, Cinque Terre

Having the opportunity to study in Italy for three months, especially in a medieval city such as Siena, is a memory I will carry with me for a lifetime. In the beginning of January, as I was packing and preparing to leave, I couldn't grasp the concept that I would be in a country I have only dreamed of visiting most of my adolescent life. Even after the fact I was in Italy, it didn't truly hit me until I was at the Medici Fort in Siena. I don't know why it was this particular moment for the realization to sink in, but I can only assume by the way the sunset hit the medieval architecture it seemed to cast such a magical moment that could never be recreated anywhere else. Only romantic Italy could capture such a perfect moment.

Manarola, Cinque Terre

Monterosso, Cinque Terre

During my time there, my hopes were to have time for self reflection, and to learn who I was as a person. Soul-searching is not all glamorous, you end up learning the ugly as well as the good. I learned that I didn't know how to relax and enjoy life. Italy definitely helped me in this aspect, because life there no one is in a rush and every moment was perceived as a moment you should cherish. For instance, at lunch time shops would close for three to four hours, so that they could take time to relax and enjoy a meal or to focus their time on something else. Back in the States, time is money but in Italy that doesn't seem to be a concept of importance. As I studied the families and the people, I noticed that there was a loving bondage between them. The dads and moms made sure they conveyed their love to their children, I would see dads playing and teasing their kids, while the moms would watch over the family like a mother hen. I'd also noticed that marriage was not rushed. Being from the South, you are expected to marry as soon as you graduated High School, and by the time you were thirty, children would be your main focus. However, the couples I knew in Italy, their main focus was creating a steady and financial home. Although, relationships were important, a bright future was more essential. Couples would date ten or more years before committing to marriage, which to me is quite inspiring because this showcased what a long and committed relationship should be.

Manarola, Cinque Terre

I had realized that because of my battle with cancer, I'd placed my life on a timer. I was so caught up in trying to live my life that I wasn't really living it all! What are accomplishments if you didn't enjoy the time it took to achieve them? Life is not made up of accomplishments it's made up of the moments it took to achieve an accomplishment. I'm still learning to take things one step at a time, because it's the little things we remember the most. I will more than likely always fall short of this, but I have to remember that life wasn't meant to be easy. However, it's the way I live it and how I perceive it – can make all the difference the world. This journey of mine has given me a lot of insight as to what I am searching for, and for that's love where you are in life. Because of my faith in God and determination, I have been given a second chance at life, and I don't plan to waste it!


bottom of page